​MPRC COO Gets Elected As New FAME President

(Seated, left to right) Josephine Francisco, NYK-FIL Ship Management, Inc; Marlon Roño, MPRC; Honorable Rosalinda D. Baldoz, DOLE; Carmen Rebusi, IMS Philippines Maritime Corp.; Administrator Hans Leo J. Cacdac, POEA. (Standing, left to right) Atty. Rodello Ortiz, Stolt-Nielsen Philippines Inc.; Michael Estaniel, Trans-Global Maritime Agency, Inc.; Capt. Reynaldo Casareo, Cargo Safeway Inc.; Ericson Marquez, Virjen Shipping Corp.; Capt. Emmanuel Regio, Island Overseas Transport Corp.; Capt. Victor Del Prado, Klaveness Maritime Agency, Inc.; and Elmer Pumumbarit, Pacific Ocean Manning, Inc.

The Filipino Association for Mariners’ Employment, Inc. (FAME) elected its new set of Board of Directors and Members of Committees for 2016-2017. Marlon R. Roño, Magsaysay People Resources Corporation (MPRC) Chief Operating Officer, was elected as the new FAME President as well as the Chairman for the Special Projects and Events Committee.

Roño heads the Human Resource Group of the Magsaysay Group of Companies. Aside from his duties in business operations, Roño is actively involved in social advocacies and serves as the President of Homer Foundation, Inc. He has been involved in a number of projects that focus on education, disaster relief and rebuilding, seafarers’ well-being, and environment protection. He is also the General Manager of the Magsaysay Multi-Purpose Cooperative and is a founding member of the Sailors’ Society in the Philippines.

FAME was established to help advance a credible Philippine manning industry in the global field of shipping. The organization began as an informal group in 1971. Today, more than 40 years later, FAME has been continuously working for the welfare of Filipino seafarers by ensuring that their professional competency consistently meets international standards. The association has about 127 members, bringing together the finest manning agencies in the country to ensure that the Philippine maritime sector is on a par with its international counterparts.

The other newly-elected officers of FAME are Michael J. Estaniel as Vice President for Internal Affairs, Ericson M. Marquez as Vice President for External Affairs, Atty. Rodello B. Ortiz as Board Secretary, and Carmen B. Rebusi as Treasurer. The elected Directors are Josephine J. Francisco of NYK-FIL Ship Management, Inc.; Engr. Sammuel T. Lim of Great Southern Maritime Services Corp.; Jose Albar G. Kato of Albar Shipping & Trading Corp.; Capt. Emmanuel L. Regio of Island Overseas Transport Corp.; Capt. Ronaldo SJ. Enrile of Philippine Transmarine Carriers, Inc.; Capt. Teodoro B. Quijano of Barko International, Inc.; Capt. Gaudencio C. Morales of Astra Marine International, Inc.; Capt. Reynaldo D. Casareo of Cargo Safeway Inc.; Engr. Elmer A. Pulumbarit of Pacific Ocean Manning, Inc.; and Capt. Victor S. Del Prado of Klaveness Maritime Agency, Inc.

The newly-elected officers and directors were inducted into office last January 12, 2016 by the Department of Labor and Employment Secretary Rosalinda Baldoz and Philippine Overseas Employment Administration Administrator Hans Leo J. Cacdac.

Key Contact



Tel: (632) 526.8888 local 9317

E-mail: updates@magsaysay.com.ph